Four writers will be selected to live and work for three months in Dawson City, Yukon, in the childhood home of noted Canadian author Pierre Berton. Writers will receive a $2,000 per month honorarium.

Residents are required to perform a public reading at the Whitehorse Public Library and the Dawson City Community Library. As well, they are encouraged to engage further with the local community by holding writing workshops in the community, interacting with the public and local literary communities, participating in local events and festivals, and availing themselves and their work to local and national media.

Visit for further details.

To be eligible candidates must:
  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
  • Have published at least one book with a professional publishing house and established themselves in any literary creative discipline (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, young readers, playwriting). Self-published writers or writers working in other genres are not eligible at this time.

All applicants will be notified of the results in late January 2017.

For more information, please visit or contact:
James Davies, Program Director
1-877-906-6548 x245